Poets logo

And I wonder if we will ever be free

A villanelle poem on the modern condition

By Colton BabladelisPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
2
And I wonder if we will ever be free
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Break away from this condemning, modern fate

Rip away the shackles that bind and smother your inner fire

Hurry now, for time is short, and it’s almost too late

-

For far too long, we’ve whiled the days away in wait

This world is crashing down, and things will soon be dire

Break away from this condemning, modern fate

-

I wonder when we lost the spark we once had to create

Pray to the gods, may Apollo grant us a song on his lyre

Hurry now, for time is short, and it’s almost too late

-

Mournful dirges swell to a crescendo before they dissipate

What I would give to feel anything besides this baleful ire

Break away from this condemning, modern fate

-

These days are dark now, where once light would radiate

Come with me, by the hushed dusk we must conspire

Hurry now, for time is short, and it’s almost too late

-

Freedom beckons to us, we can no longer procrastinate

Let my desire run rampant, a screeching and careening amplifier

Break away from this condemning, modern fate

Hurry now, for time is short, and it’s almost too late

artVillanellesocial commentaryMental Health
2

About the Creator

Colton Babladelis

I'm a nature lover that tries to capture the beauty and darkness of life in my poetry. I'm also a sci-fi and fiction fanatic and am branching my own writing out into short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Oh how I wish we can break away and be free. Loved your Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.