Poets logo

Anchises

A father's love for his son

By Ethan GrahamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My son, born of a goddess, carried me for I was punished for boasting, from the burning city on his shoulder, leading his son by the hand. He lost his wife that night amidst the turmoil, soon after he lost me. Now I sit and wait for him to return, so that I may tell him of his future. I sit looking at those who are to be men some soon and some far from now. I have much to tell of the greatness of his people that is yet to come. A mission for all the sons of Mavors, to do the duty they were born to do.

The shades around me have this longing look on their faces. When will my son come so that these people may be seen, and finally leave me alone. “Oh great son of Capys, where is your son?” One, who is wearing armor and a helm with a large red plume asks. I do not know is all I can answer, he will be here when the fates allow. Which I hope is soon these Romans are getting on my nerves, even though I am proud to see what will come from my son and his son.

I believe I hear the sound of feet coming this way, it's been a long time since I have heard that sound. There I think I see my dutiful son coming around the rocks, Yes it is him, praise be to Cytherea who has finally brought him. I wish it were in a more cheerful place, but I will not question the Fates, and their wishes. He tried to embrace me only to clasp his arms around air.

Unfortunately I had to let him go again. Hopefully, I helped him in the small way I could. It is in the hands of the Fates and Iuppiter now, I know his mother will one day receive him on high, while his son will rule for thirty years and build the kingdom, for the king's of Hector's race will rule three hundred years. This is more than any father could ask for, my son will be remembered.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ethan Graham

An aspiring writer, trying to find my niche and an audience. Hope you enjoy my content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.