Poets logo

Ancestor

A Poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Ancestor
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Fragments of tiny bone

hidden in the microscopic shells

pieces of my ancestors

and their life force.

In snow & soot,

in falling rain,

fractals of their evolution

cover me.

In the roots of ancient trees

and the sands

of the oldest deserts.

They wave at me

in their spirit form

from their oasis.

In castle walls

and buried secrets.

In rivers that divide lands,

their energy flows.

They are everywhere,

all at once.

Protecting, guiding,

reminding me of who I am.

Pinpointing exactly where I came from,

and every battle fought to get here.

I am thousands of stories,

written into a novel of humanity.

A dictation of my ancestry.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.