Poets logo

An Open Letter to the Government

'You are the government, something you’ve craved to demolish and have it cease to exist. And that’s exactly what you’ve done to me.'

By Cassandra RosePublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Girl Scout Standing up to a Neo-Nazi by Vladimir Cicmanec

an open letter to the government

four years of reading your contract

to see what this binding agreement entailed

to see what weapons I should arm myself with

to see what I’d be getting myself into

roughly seven months of being your ally

during this war we fought together

this war against the politicians

who fed us nauseating propaganda

this war against the capitalistic advertising

that influenced you to find satisfaction

from a different stateless society

this war against the poltergeists of our love

three years and counting of

having my lungs turn black

while fighting and suffocating

under the wreckage from

your friendly fire

beware of the anarchist

with chocolate brown eyes

beware of the nihilist

with mousy brown hair

beware of the revolutionary

with words of an ally

but actions of a totalitarian

no gods

no masters

no second chances

I was your perfect explosion

your beautiful molotov cocktail

each time you put your lips on mine

I tasted the gasoline

you spit down my throat

the gasoline I was forced

to swallow

the gasoline that made it hard

to breathe as I was

choking on your lies

my blood turned to napalm

and my body was engulfed in flames

the flames that used to burn

with my love for you

the flames that used to burn

for the hope that the government

wasn’t all unethical

the flames that used to burn

with thriving life and beauty

if you play with fire

you’re going to get burned

if you play with false fidelities

and government

you’re going to detonate

no gods

no masters

no second chances

dependency on the government

is disposable

tangible

a glorified form of suicide

my devotion to you was

as strong as your desire

to watch the world burn

your desire to bask in

the inferno you’ve erected

your desire to break down

the fortification around my heart

and destroy it

an

open letter

to the

government

you broke

our treaty

our pact

our promise

you’ve committed high treason

the only commitment you’ve

been faithful towards

you’ve eradicated the new life

we’ve built from the spark

of our casual solidarity

anarchists crave freedom and unity

anarchists crave disestablishment and individualism

anarchists crave the assassination and cessation

of faces and names by replacing them

with Guy Fawkes masks and false identities

no gods

no masters

no second chances

anarchists crave to become impervious

to the capitalistic advertising and

propaganda we’ve solely

become conditioned to

solely a conditioning

of conspiracy and corruption

solely a conditioning

of deception and belittlement

solely a conditioning

of the belief that a good time with no ties

to promises or commitments would cancel

out the fact that you’ve become

the political chauvinist

you’ve always demonized

an

open letter

to the

government

you are the corrupt one

I had to destroy our treaty of alliance

after you sabotaged it

I used to have dreams where

we were reborn each lifetime

simply to find a way back

to one another

we would thrive in the heat

from our passion and

the cities we’ve set on fire

there’s no such thing as a peaceful revolution

no gods

no masters

no second chances

empty promises

and black ashtrays

I was addicted

I was addicted

to your mind

to your words

to your touch

to your love

to you

an

open letter

to the

government

I became blind to the

knee-jerk radical that

you’ve become

my addiction to your mind

was like inviting the patriarchy

into my home and letting them

dictate how my life

a woman’s life should be lived

and how my gender has

forced me to become silent

and obedient to misogyny

my addiction to your words

was like conforming to the ideology

that we should become drones

following these politics blindly

without being aware of the

deception we’ve been fed

time and time again

my addiction to your touch

was like six thousand volts

of electricity slowly passing

through my veins as punishment

for fighting for the advocation

and emancipation of my soul

out from under the claws of your

oppressive promises

my addiction to your love

was like being stripped of my flesh

exposing my naked organs

and have my heart beaten by

the force of your truncheon hands

my addiction to you

was like a collateral cancer

I’ve learned to suppress

for your love was the loan

I had to repay

a collateral cancer that

ravaged my decaying mind

devoured my aching soul

and made me realize

you weren’t worth the debt

a collateral cancer that

became a capitalistic

advertisement that

encouraged me to

replace your cancer

with another

no gods

no masters

no second chances

a tangible object

that can easily kill

an addiction

that coats my

lungs in tar

the taste of freedom

everything you’ve wanted

and everything

I’ve needed

an

open letter

to the

government

the taste of treason

everything you’ve believed in

and everything I’ve tried to repress

as I slowly emerge

from our holocaust

I’ve become someone

more promising than

you ever were

I am no longer

an allly

I am pacifistic

I am free

and I am the nuclear

bomb that destroyed you

you are Hiroshima

you are Nagasaki

you are a wasteland

an

open letter

to the

government

write this in the

history books

the Berlin wall

fell today

you are no longer

a threat

you are no longer

a promise

you are no longer

the present

and I am no longer

fighting in your war

you are the government

something you’ve craved

to demolish and

have it cease to exist

and that’s exactly what

you’ve done to me

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Cassandra Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.