Poets logo

An Ode to My Legs

#VocalNPM

By Megan ArtusPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Thank you for aiding me in accomplishing all the things that I love-

Like hurdling

and kicking

and running

and cycling

and jumping

and shooting

and climbing

and dancing

and swimming.

Thank you for the height.

I like the view.

And for all the times spent on the floor.

I need those times.

I apologize for the scars.

For the scars that bring memories to my heart,

I hope you don't mind those.

They're like a map, a maze, a game of connect-the-dots.

I'm sorry for the busted knees I overuse.

I'm sorry for the neglect.

For the track rash-

that was a learning moment.

For all the times I've left you hairy.

And for the lack of Vitamin D.

But mostly I want to say thanks-

Thanks for carrying me to the people and the places I love most.

And whatever happens, whatever I may do-

please just keep on keeping on.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Megan Artus

@megdmerrillwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.