Poets logo

An Ode To Inside Jokes

and the ones who are in on them

By Amber GracePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2021
69

I think most inside jokes are memories you share with the people who were there when shit hit the fan and the people who proudly held your hand when you were not even nearly your best.

But they stayed, anyway, and they made you feel safe, to be your whole self, in all phases of mental health. So-

Here's to the ones-

who try to talk you out of crazy shit.

And,

Cheers to the ones-

who join when they realize there's no stopping it.

So we pretend to be rich and British

on a Wednesday afternoon

in a store off 5th avenue

‘cause why not?

There's nothing better to do.

Then we eat

our food backwards

because, "what if someone did that?"

And on the street

We attempt to hold water in our mouths

without spitting it out.

Never successful.

And even as adults

we play mermaids in the pool

‘cause having fun is still more important than being "cool".

Cheers to the friends that laugh when you wipe out in public

and cheer you on

and probably even film it.

I know that whatever happens with you

at least I won’t forget it-

Even if I regret it.

Cause we’ve also made mistakes

We’ve said things we hate

and forgotten to appreciate

the way we’re so lucky to have found each other, soulmates.

So,

Cheers to the fights we can laugh about now!

Because, we always come back together somehow.

You keep me young,

keep me laughing,

You go along with all my dumb-ass-ing.

Cheers to the universe playing tricks on us, just to crack us up.

Like when we were supposed to meet at a subway stop

and we made eye contact through the glass

as the train sped up

and we both laughed

as I flew past.

And burger nights

And pasta nights

And taco nights

And trying to bring your pet fish back to life.

To the only ones who know what to do

to cheer me up

when I’m feelin’ blue

Or when there’s no cheer to be had,

cause I’m stuck in my sad,

so you just keep me busy instead.

Or you leave me be,

cause you know sometimes that's all I need.

And to the people who make the MOST out of the LEAST.

Those moments that COULD have been bad memories.

Like missing my flight-

or us at the hospital late late at night.

Or, on the lighter side,

learning a dance routine

on vacation ‘cause

we were both in bad moods,

and it was raining.

Yeah-

Here's to the jokes that no one else could understand

even if they could travel in time

and see firsthand.

Because those were yours and mine.

Because some things only we can see.

Like the shapes in the clouds

that look the same to just you and me.

And how we get dressed up and try to look good

Just for a walk ‘round the neighborhood.

Cheers to knowing things about each other only lovers would.

It’s like we have our own language-

how we can have entire conversations

without making a sound.

And there’s something pretty romantic

about having you around.

Cause I think the best love is one that makes you laugh

‘til you cry.

I couldn’t explain,

clearly, in this poem, I’ve tried.

Because my favorite memories, the ones that make me feel most alive,

Are of times when we let loose, and go wild.

Just us at the mercy of our inner child.

So here’s the end 0f it

-my honest truth-

It has absolutely been my privilege

being weird with you.

performance poetry
69

About the Creator

Amber Grace

A Los Angeles transplant from Maine, Amber finds meaning through creativity. Amber makes art to better understand herself and others, and to expand on the things that make us all oh-so- human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.