Poets logo

AN ODE IN PRAISE OF COLOUR

A poem by Elle Fran Williams

By Eileen Frances Quilter WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

An Ode in praise of colour

My roots are green, my face is white

My vote is red, my team is blue

My family have a rainbow hue

The past is not a useful school

past generations not defined

or in spectrum lines confined

My forebears in from far-flung lands

driven travellers in from East, far West

no influence outweighed the rest

My world now has different sights.

with colours bright and views sincere

Old I may be, but my mind is clear

I really hope I’ll live to know

a world, like petals on a flower

where colours all have equal power

I myself am truly blessed

Since I have family of different hue

with black and white, and coffee too!

Even my own past generations

too easily forgot their ‘stranger’ label

with words and deeds meant to disable

You eat with your eyes, with

No colour? stroganoff is merely stew

despite chef’s Michelin star and cordon’ blue!

They say variety is the spice of life

but then colour must be the coverall of variety

No colour? Life’s just boredom and sobriety!

Elle Fran Williams

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.