Poets logo

An Autobiography of Such

The prompt of this poem was to start each sentence with the same phrase. I wondered off and created something myself.

By Robert MarcianoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
20
A self - portrait.

I was a seed

I was a jewel

Then I was bone

I was a sound

I became a question

I was an actor

While I was in society

Which felt like wilderness

It's wildness

and by chance

I was a story

And by the end

I was an animal

artsocial commentaryslam poetry
20

About the Creator

Robert Marciano

I'm using this site to post my poetry. I have loved poetry ever since I was a teenager and for some crazy reason had to become a poet.

All photos are mine.

If you'd like to know more about me. I'm on IG @themillennialbeatpoet

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I like the fact that the cadence issues an impact. This was very well written!

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    I can’t tell if you submitted this into the Full Moon poem on dreams challenge, if you haven’t you absolutely should! I love the short stop beating rhythm of this poem. It feels like an entry into something very primal and earthly. I feel there is some similar shapeshifting theme between my two latest poems and yours, I’d love for you to check them out!

  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    Wonderfully composed, I'm sure many will relate. Thank you for sharing.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is an interesting use of words. It's a good and entertaining read.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    YES! this is really good!

  • I like the phrase “ I was an actor in society, which felt like wilderness” I couldn’t relate more. Congrats on your top story.

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    Amazing.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Wonderful and visceral

  • Vadim Kaganabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.