Poets logo

An Apology to Mama

A Poem

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Mama, I know you have sacrificed everything for me -

The possibility of a career was diminished

And you've never been allowed to truly love a man or even be free.

Because of me

Your life was on the line on the 27th of January

And the doctors said it was either you or me.

When both of us made it, you'd give up your sleep

To fight away my continuous fevers

And keep me safe from pain as best as could be.

But I seem to be great at throwing your efforts back in your face.

Especially as a teenager

I thought you were a disgrace -

A woman willing to be stepped on by society

And locked in the house as though it were a cage.

I would hide in my room for years

'Cause I thought you were moulding me into a slave,

But now I realise your only wish was to shape me

Into the best version of myself;

And teach me to let go of all my rage.

I'm sorry, mama, for wasting so much time

Feeling angry at you when you are nothing less than sublime,

I know it's not too late to make amends

So I want to make you happy before we say the final goodbye.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.