Poets logo

An Angry Man

Ode to the English Teacher

By Makeba K DatéPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
An Angry Man
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

He cares too much,

Two years of his life wasted,

Abandoned him, abandoned us,

His students has deserted him,

He is angry disappointed, hurt, betrayed,

Like Hamlet?

'Why bother?'

Knowledge that has taken nearly 40 years to accumulate,

Wants to be given, needs to be given,

But it is wasted on some,

'16 years of teaching for this?'

What a committed teacher.

His anger is like a volcano ready to erupt,

Stemming with passionate outburst;

'You make me sick'

Such passion, such knowledge...wasted.

Yet his passion lives on,

In those that has gone pass our stage,

Or maybe in those that yet to reach our stage,

Maybe by then his knowledge will reach one of them.

Maybe by then it will reach my brain,

Fighting its way through eighteen years of knowledge gained

Knowledge earned...worthless knowledge?

To finally grow and maybe by then I will nurture it,

Maybe I will keep this knowledge with me,

Like the few that has gotten through at times,

Although my time to gain some of his knowledge is ending,

There will be others to soak up his knowledge, like a sponge to water

The question remains, how longer will his knowledge available?

How longer is he willing to share it? Give it?

To those who does not see if as the precious gift it is,

He will be leaving soon...

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Makeba K Daté

I like to contemplate people, things and situation. I contemplate that I must be a writer so I wrote down my contemplation and share them with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.