Poets logo

An act of balance

Not a balance act...

By its really good to see youPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
An act of balance
Photo by Olu Famule on Unsplash

If I were to present you with the sun and the moon

which would you presume to be masculine?

I ask because I’ve come to know well

what sets the infinite embodiments of manhood

apart.

It comes down to two things:

The Inner and Outer World.

Externally,

we’ve collectively fallen for the brightest and loudest peacock’s feathers

Measuring our worth by our

mating partners

by how well our validation walks the tightrope of societal expectations

until a brighter, louder puppet

enters the scene and leaps onto the string

knocking our validation off into the depths

below.

Where no one cares to or dares to lift you back up because they’re still clinging to the rope

themselves.

Their only salvation in the face of the deep, dark abyss of loneliness.

Where there’s no one to tell you that you are or are not a man

Where there is only silence

Where there is no comparison

No conflict

and

subsequently

no violence.

The Inner World.

Where the divine masculine and feminine reside in perpetual harmony

as the teachers of the school of being

awaiting

your attendance.

I’ve been a student for some time and I’ve come to find

That my power as a man is in my stillness.

It doesn’t come from a code that seeks to infect me

like a virus, so that I may replicate and pass on illness.

I’ve come to find that my power as a man is in my silence

Not in my capacity to incite or intimidate with violence.

I’ve found that my power comes from my commitment to change

To rearranging and reframing the frameworks within and around me for the good

of all.

My power comes from defining manhood myself

and meeting the world face to face

gazing deep into its eyes and refining myself as I find myself in its pupils.

The inner and outer worlds are linked, but distinct

If there’s no integrity within, you’ll never find it outside

You might find many soft hands and lips to stroke your ego to completion

On the condition that you remain on the tightrope

But

Manhood isn’t a balancing act

It is an act of balance

and only You can strike it.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

its really good to see you

I am Jay.

My goals are to creatively encourage you to cultivate genuine self love and to free your mind.

I invite you to step into genuine tranquility and light.

I offer seeds for the garden of your body, mind, and soul.

I hope you plant them

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.