Poets logo

Am I Running Away to Austin

Dreaming My Life Away

By CAROLE S TURNERPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Am I running away to Austin?

Will you beg me to stay

When I get to Houston?

I’ll pass through San Antonio

Visit the Alamo

I’ve never been

I’ve never been to Austin

You stopped seeing me long ago

So perhaps I just need a furlough

Get out of jail free card

Wonder past the yard

Travel near and far

Or not

Gosh I feel crazy

Sometimes

I wonder if Denver would do

A mountain house

With a gorgeous view

Nice fur rug on the floor

Wood bench on the porch

Just out the front door

Or my dream by the sea

Bakio Spain calling me

Late dinner and vino

At a small bistro

The breeze on my face

Enjoying the slow pace

Or am I running away to Marfa

A different kind of desert

Another kind of lonely

Away from all I fear

Like running from a bear

You know that always works out

So well

Should I get an Airstream?

Like you and I dreamed

Or was that just me?

I no longer remember or believe

Should I get stuck

In Long Beach again?

Stay at Hotel Royal

My old friend

Drive the mountains

All alone

No service on my phone

White knuckle the steering wheel

Ah, that fear is real

Or would Reno be better?

I could get a country sweater

A ranch with a small room

Arms on a wood fence view

A Charlie One Horse hat

Stick a feather in the back

Stops the sun from my face

While I watch the bison race

Sounds nice

Or am I running away to Austin?

Will you beg me to stay

As I pass through Houston?

I’ll stop in San Antonio

And go visit the Alamo

I’ve never been

I’ve never been to Austin

I need a getaway

Before I can no longer stay

Just a slight reprieve

Room to breath

Maybe a month or two

Without you

I’m always searching

These days

Flights, New Orleans to LA

Miami to Spain

Spreadsheets plot my stay

Planning ways to pay

Dreaming my life away

Till I can escape

Or just run away to Austin

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

CAROLE S TURNER

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.