Poets logo

Am I Lucky

should I be grateful for this

By HufflecupPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3

am I lucky or am I cursed

either way it might end in a hearse

it might be a miracle I got this far

it seems like my progress has stalled

I think I know myself

does that make me naive

maybe life is about never knowing

about enjoying getting lost in the fog

about writing your story over and over

about being lucky to be alive

if that's the case

I don't like this prize

not the struggling lungs

the aching muscles

the slowly blurring eyes

or the maladaptive dreams

at least, those are the only dreams I remember fondly

I'm supposed to be grateful for this

my loved ones may get an apology

but god won't be getting a thank you card

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryslam poetryFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    Those last two lines took from great to brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.