Poets logo

Am I Just a Shadow of Time Gone By

Do You See Me?

By Lyn PorterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Me in the station.

Can you see me? Do you know who I am? My story is not yet done, but the parade is over. The flags are taken down. The love that once was there is gone. Why so fleeting? Where did it go?

I am not gone. I am still here. I still love and I want to be loved in return. Where did the love go? Can I go there? I cannot be packed away like a folded flag. I am not just a symbol or a token for a short period of time.

I am here, I am now and I am real. I am not just one month, one parade, or one symbol. I am alive, feeling, and wanting to be real forever and a day. Is it too much to ask? Why can you not see me when the parade is gone? Why do you look the other way? Are you afraid? You should not be. I am here, I am real and I am love. Don't shy away. I won't hurt you. I will embrace you because we are all real, alive, human, and worthy of love. The parade has ended but life has not.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Lyn Porter

I am a Physical Education teacher of 30+ years. I am also an EMT. These two jobs keep me busy. My hobbies include writing and painting rocks. I also enjoy getting out on the golf course as much as possible during the warmer months.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.