Poets logo

Am I? I am.

Because It is what it is.

By Jeff JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I am old now so, I think a lot.

I am the one the world forgot.

I sit in my dark room.

Waiting for my impossible groom.

Is this my lot?

I should hope not.

I do think a lot.

I toss and turn my spirit does burn.

I yearn yet churn.

I toss at night. Tense fear of what comes hence.

The light at the end of the tunnel has all too often been a hellish funnel.

There is no summit to the danger when I plummet.

There is no net for me, only a bet for me.

When I die tortured tears will they cry?

Sounds of relief for what they were bequeathed.

My place in this world is the one I made for me up my hanging tree.

My responsibility to be fully me.

I sit in my dark room counting my mistakes.

Never taking short mental breaks.

planting seeds that will not grow and I instantly know.

I sit trying to right wrongs I did not commit.

Convicted of crimes I only predicted.

I watched the truly guilty spin and sin.

Their numbers are great that's how they win.

I may be small and up against a wall.

But I will stand tall.

I will fight and argue with them all.

Yes, I am White. White is not always right.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Jeff Johnson

I am that late bloomer that decided to follow his passion late in life. I live for stories that are out of bounds, unusual, and beyond normal limits. I thrive on comedies, horror stories, and stories that tug at your heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.