Poets logo

Am I a Writer?

Vocal 2024

By LanaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2

I’ve often asked myself

Am I truly a writer?

Even though the words only seem to flow

At their own discretion.

Even though the act of writing can feel tedious, forced, or frustrating.

When I was a child, I wrote songs and poetry.

I wanted to be a songwriter.

I wanted to be an author.

I wanted to capture my moments, thoughts, and awakenings on paper

For anyone who cared to read them.

But life took twists and turns

And I forgot about writing

Let it go without a second thought.

So much for passion

It must not have been my thing after all.

I must never truly have been a writer.

But the funny thing about taking enough twists and turns

Is that you’re bound to come full circle from time to time.

In a blind pursuit of education led by the highest school grades

Life took me back to the blank page

Back to words and their infinite abilities to create and share

An art rooted in precision and nuance

A form of creativity my logical brain could manipulate.

With a new career revolving around words

I returned to writing.

Yet, for years I continued to wonder

Am I now a writer?

Until one day

That enigmatic lightbulb shone bright

Memories of past aspirations illustrating my origin story

A trail of clues leading back to the beginning

Motivating me once again

To become a writer

In all its shapes and forms

On the good days and the bad

When the words come to me like a smooth-running river

And when they are scarce

Dried up

Waiting for the next rain.

Writing is my art

Words are my medium

And I now understand

That creativity ebbs and flows.

The journey commences

There's a new year to bloom

And my seeds have been planted with enthusiasm.

Coming out of hibernation

Out of the closet I have been hiding in

I will be vocal

I will compete

And I will expand my potential to grow.

I am embracing the process

The cycles

And my identity as an artist

Ready to explore, foster, refine, and share my art with the world.

Finally trusting in what I’ve always known:

I am a writer.

Stream of Consciousness
2

About the Creator

Lana

Professional freelance writer and aspiring poet. I love adventures, the outdoors, and my pets, and I am always looking for new ways to learn and grow in life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Olutosin Samuel 3 months ago

    Oh my life 👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.