Poets logo

Always Home

No Matter Where I Go

By Amelia Carter Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Always Home
Photo by KaLisa Veer on Unsplash

There are many ways in my heart that I could describe as home.

A warm blanket by the fireside or taking a walk all alone.

A rainy day when I can snuggle with my pets and not feel bad for being lazy.

Booking a flight on my computer to travel somewhere amazing.

It’s the simple and yet complicated moments that make me feel like home.

Singing in the kitchen with my dad to a Bobby Darin song.

Laughing and dancing in the grass, barefoot, as rain falls down.

Wondering how I became the woman I am now.

Gazing up at a mountain that extends into the skies.

Observing an eagle above as it flies.

Hearing a child's curious questions as they see the world with wonder.

When I watch a heartwarming movie that brings everyone together.

It’s not materialistic things that make me feel at home.

It’s the moments that replay like old VHS tapes in my heart that I don’t want to let go.

Home is the memories I’ve made in my lifetime.

The ones that make me laugh.

The ones that make me appreciate all the love I have.

I could be across an ocean.

An entire continent away.

But home is still inside me.

It’s a part of me today.

No matter where I travel.

No matter where I go.

I know that I could live anywhere.

And always be at home.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amelia Carter

Hey there, I have a passion for storytelling through writing and creating people, places, and adventures. Hope you enjoy my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.