Poets logo

Always Black

Poetry for Black History Month

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Always Black
Photo by Jennifer Marquez on Unsplash

Always Black. I’ve always been a child of the skin a shade darker. Tyranny saw me and sought to make my days darker.

Always Black. Every avenue of life had a start with me, so every other color is a part of me.

Always Black. Many people have a view of me that is a subliminal idea that I’m a natural born criminal.

Always Black. I’ve been blessed with thousands of years of wisdom and intelligence that always hold modern day relevance.

Always Black. No matter what flows in my heart when you look inward. Many will look at my skin and only see a living N-word.

Always Black. You can do everything in your power to doubt me, but this world wouldn’t be great without me.

Always Black. They tell me my color is a reflection of dirt as an attempt to keep my spirit hurt.

Always Black. I’m a descendant of ancient queens and kings. Their spirits are the war cry that makes my freedom ring.

My importance in this world’s history is always fact. Always melanated, always beautiful…I’m Always Black.

slam poetrysocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Preach the truth Joe. We are black and oh so proud.

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    Great message. Great flow

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Wow Joe you said it all and so powerfully, perfect and hit many myths and truths. So good!❤️

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Wow, this is powerful, Joe :)

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Amen! ✊🏾

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Beautifully and powerfully put. ❤️

  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Great realism

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.