Poets logo

Already dead

Simon 😍from Adventure Time

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 7 months ago ‱ 1 min read
6

my heart longs deeply like a long fused sleeper cell.

My soul has reached its endless state of consciousness,

A flower petal that has been pressed too hard against the hard place of deathlessness,

And cannot breathe, but cannot die.

Layers cover my vision, dark, deep, burgundy fires

I am only but a mortal man,

But now my heart beats like a mortal enemy.

My darling Betty, you were always there.

In my very deep pitted veins, my blood oily and dry,

You kept me warm on the most frigid nights with a kiss I had never stopped

But I am already dead,

Dead tired,

Dead alone,

This is so damn tormenting

To know you are so close by

But I can’t feel, see, taste, hear you.

I wanna feel your heat one more time

As your signature gave me reason to feel

Like the sleeper cell inside of me finally had the right direction to wake up,

Trailing behind my immense timeline of smoke-like, dream-starvation

as I am that spooked horse

In the dead of still moon and morn,

Grabbing your heart like a pitch fork that won’t make you bleed, but feel everywhere and everything all at once.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    touching, profound and phenomenally written!

  • That empty, hollow pit of grief that only lets one go briefly during those times when you're able to sleep & dream that they're still with you. Enjoyed the song. Now if only it was just a matter of not feeling like myself today rather than feeling exactly like myself virtually every day.

  • Whoaaaaa this was so intense and emotional! I loved it so much!

  • JBaz7 months ago

    so smooth and heartfelt.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.