Poets logo

Alone

For a special someone

By Tressa RosePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
5
Alone
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Venom from the snakes mouth

Poisoning the ears of the innocent

Sting of the scorpions tail

Crimson red spills out.

~~~

Parchment drenched in sweat and tears

The crying out of an aching soul

Your lies and deception

Sown down deep

Under the flesh

Above the spirit

Making waves that will flood for sure

~~~

You told me there was nothing to worry about

You told me I was safe

But as someone wise once said

You can lead a horse to water

And make it drink

But you can't lead a human to knowledge

And make it think.

sad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    The ending of this poem resonated so strongly with me, great poem

  • Sam Eliza Green6 months ago

    I deeply resonated with the image of, "Parchment drenched in sweat and tears. The crying out of an aching soul." So often, I've found myself writing things down to rationalize or understand intense emotions. Thank you for sharing!

  • That ending is so true! Loved your profound poem!

  • Test6 months ago

    Rose your poem dives into the venomous impact of deception, the pain of trusting false assurances, and the inability to force someone to see the truth.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.