Poets logo

Alone

A pattern in time of sacred geometry

By Annette KimPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

In solitude

My heart opens

I feel a space open around me

to fill up

to be

a cocoon of safety

for a time

before it starts to smother me

in a deafening silence

Obsession

with breaking it down

like an unwilling larva

crying out to the swallows above

They come and pick at the proteinaceous shell

Squirming with discomfort,

I retreat into the silence,

the deafening silence,

that comforts me

again

Until the next time

I forget this story

Until the next time

I surrender to resistance

and beg for the swallows to come

This silence

This space

taking on the sacred geometry

of a nautilus shell

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Annette Kim

Forget rules | Live true

http://linktr.ee/annettekim

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.