Poets logo

Allow me talk about death

Death

By NanashPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
18
Allow me talk about death
Photo by Grant Whitty on Unsplash

For I know a day will surely come when he will visit me

A day will come when he will take away all my loved ones and family

Allow me to talk about death for certainty he is inevitable

Allow me to talk about death now

because I don’t know when he will knock on my door and leave me dumbstruck

If not for anything I have seen him visit several households and upon departure he left behind agony and grief in those homes

I have seen him claim the lives of young talented people who were full of life and big dreams

I have seen him separate a mother from her newly born child

I have seen him take a father away from his family

I have seen him lay his filthy hands on the long-time suffering man at the junction who had just been blessed

I have seen him truncating the initiation of a beautiful beginning and thereby shifting its end out of sight

Allow me to talk about death

For it once visited my community

He once visited my school

He visited my house

Allow me to talk about death

For when he appears before me, I will neither spared nor would he have mercy on me

I remember when he grasped one of my own

she was with a child

She couldn’t give any excuse but to just leave

Allow me to talk about death

For he has caused many hearts to pump, blood to boil, and bodies to shiver.

Prosesad poetryperformance poetryinspirational
18

About the Creator

Nanash

The scars that married my body left bruises so deep that the mind is constantly wandering to derive tranquility. In my unique way, I take you along a journey into the echoes from my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Tammy Castleman2 months ago

    What a difficult subject, death. You did a wonderful job of creating a visible character of death. Congrats on top story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • JBaz2 months ago

    you speak the truth, and thank you for sharing with us. Congratulations

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Oh - powerful, sad, yet strong. Grieve fully and starve death’s visit! ❣️

  • Brin J.2 months ago

    Death's cold hands have reached for a few of my family members as well. I'm grateful it was always with a gentle touch and not a sudden, cruel one. Still, I feel the sting of the loss daily. <3

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    This is so powerful. Thank you for sharing it 💙

  • esther hope2 months ago

    Lovely!

  • ema2 months ago

    Your poem is touching and loving, the death of a loved one is an unbearable pain 😥

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Where there is life, the would be death. Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Absolutely amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.