Poets logo

all the wrong things to say

just don't

By Martyna DearingPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
all the wrong things to say
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

“How are you doing?”

Horrible, thanks for asking.

“I can’t even imagine…”

No, you can’t. So don’t.

"... how heartbroken you are"

Yes, I am. Thanks for the reminder.

“God needed him more”

Oh really, God needs my 27-year-old husband more than I do?

“His work here was done”

But serial killers living till their 80s still have much more to do.

"He's still with you in spirit"

I prefer physical form, thank you very much.

“You’ll find love again”

I already did. I’m good, thanks.

“At least you didn’t have children”

And now we never will.

“He would’ve wanted you to be happy”

Yes, he would. With him along my side. Happy. Together.

“He wouldn’t want you to be alone forever”

I’m sure I have his blessing to sleep with other people.

“Let me know if you need anything”

Sure, can you go back in time and give me my husband and life back?

“Time heals”

Oh yes, time. All that time I have to spend living this stupid life without my soulmate. I’m so glad I have all that time to heal without him.

heartbreaksad poetry
2

About the Creator

Martyna Dearing

Martyna Dearing joined vocal right after COVID started in April 2020. Since then she got a few Top Stories, republished her book "Green Card Marriage", and is about to release another one titled "Loved, Death, and In Between".

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.