Poets logo

All that Was And All That Could Have Been

As he silently wept

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I was with him when he realised what he’d done

Witnessing that very moment of his mental clarity,

Shocked to see it hit home and boy did it hit hard

It was never his intention to live with such disparity.

***

I was concerned when I noticed his silent weeping

His pain tormenting him, as he cried without tears,

He seemed to be locked into his memories, a trance

As he worked through emotions from sadness to fears.

***

I then heard him whisper, “I have fucked myself up”

As he crucified himself for the memories and realisation,

It was obvious to me the source of his torment, his pain

Was because he believed he truly deserved damnation.

***

He mourned deeply for all that was in his grim reality

And especially suffered for all that could have been,

It clearly hit hard as it all come crashing down upon him

He struggled once he realised all was not as it seemed.

***

I was uncertain as to how to console his heartache

There were no words that I could speak to calm him,

As his feelings and torment erupted deeply from within

There’s no easy fix, no words, things were looking grim.

***

So I silently sat, hoping my presence offered comfort

As he worked through his pain, I hoped to console,

But he was too deeply entrenched in his torment

And all I could do was listen to the sobbing of his soul.

***************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so sad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.