Poets logo

All That Could've Been

The finale in a trilogy of love poems.

By Oliver JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
All That Could've Been
Photo by Eli Pluma on Unsplash

We said it would be us to the end

Two hearts locked together from dusk 'til dawn

Two lovers pulled together from the first breath drawn

We said we were meant to be...

When I look back I'm alone, reliving the best day of my life

Wishing for more, wondering what it was for

Reminiscing on what we could've been

It always seemed like we could've had it all

I cared for you just as you did for me

It really was a flicker of eternity

And then just as it came we lost it all

No more memories

Now I'm left remembering you, while you forget me

I'll never forget the comfort I felt in your arms

Just as you, or rather we, will never know all that we could've had

Only I will

That's what the memories do to me

I don't hate you for hurting me– I never could and I never will

The memories we share keep me going

Those happiest days and sweetest nights

My mind spins them into a web of the future

Something to keep me up when I would've been with you

I seem to always have a reminder of all that could've been.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Oliver Johnson

I hope you enjoy some of my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.