Poets logo

All of My Children

That I Lost

By VikingIndiePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

For all of my children that lie in a manger, the earth turns for you, and I protect you from danger. A world that was too cold for you to spread your wings, but while you're sleeping mommy still loves you.

For all of my children that have yet to see the life, you are a part of me, and you see through my eyes. Every single one of the sun sets, the twinkling stars, the colorful flowers, and all of the art that the world has to offer.

For all of my children still watching from heaven, I promise you that I am okay, because of you I love another day. I will paint you pictures, and sing you songs, and I'll never be afraid if you sing along.

For all of my children, every single one, you will come back to me because our story is not done. One day I will put you in pretty dresses, maybe bows in your hair, suit and ties for the boys, and maybe I'll let you dress yourself.

For all of my children, the five babies I never got to hold, I still think of you, I still dream of you, I still feel you, I still love you with more love than the universe has to offer. Don't worry, one day I will carry you again.

For all of my children, the boys and girls and the non-binary, the day will come and I will show you the moon, I will put pretty crystals in your hands, and together we will jump into puddles and make mud cakes.

For all of my children that I can't wait to meet again, one day we will bake cookies, and when the kids try to make fun of you I will be at their parents front door demanding the respect you deserve because you are worthy.

For all of my children who never met their father, it's probably for the best because he wasn't shit anyway, but the next time he will be. He will tuck you in at night, and tell you silly stories. And daddy will braid your hair.

For all of my children that I will see again soon, when I cover your face with kisses please don't tell me that your too old. Please don't tell me that you're embarrassed because I will still hold you like a child at twenty five.

For all of my children this is for you whether I birth you from my own womb or I find you in a place where you don't belong. I will hold you, and tell you how beautiful you are, and nothing will tear us apart. I will be the best mother that I can be, this time I'm all in.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

VikingIndie

just want to rant about some injustices I’ve experienced, and I hope I can find some people who know how I can right these wrongs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.