Poets logo

All My Hues

Coloring myself in

By Max Drew GeigerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
All My Hues
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

By Tirza van Dijk on Unsplash

I am pink,

because when

I dare to lay

beside the one I

love each night

I am set ablaze,

burning so hot I

melt the bonds holding

me to who I’m

told I must be,

burning so bright

my eyes can finally

catch alight the misery

that darkened my heart,

kept there for so

long from my fear

of being pink.

By Alexander Mils on Unsplash

I am red,

bathed in the blood

of those who came before

me, those brave souls

who lay down their

lives to live the love

in their hearts. I am

a life alive because they lived,

the outcome of their

pains and plights,

a child lucky to be

born into the fruit

of their labor, into

the community built

stronger with their

bones as our cornerstone.

By Zac Durant on Unsplash

I am orange,

in my determination to

continue the roll of change

and bring the freedom

my predecessors strove

for, together we will

bring the balance they

knew was on the horizon

and expression will flow

from the fingers of all,

Equally, we will recover

all our wounded hearts,

learn to enjoy the

creativity flickering

in our minds.

By Maria Oswalt on Unsplash

I am yellow,

for though I fight,

the fear in my heart

continues to smother

me, my own thoughts

deceive me. When I

am yellow, I wonder

why green is not the

hue shining, so hot

is the jealousy in my

chest, flaring at

every glimpse of

those gifted with the

kind of life I dream

of, a better yellow,

sunlight dappling my heart,

full of happiness and

energy, loyalty and clarity.

I must use my yellow

to remember those

fighting alongside me,

so I may honor them,

and our quest for peace.

By Runze Shi on Unsplash

I am green,

not with envy, though

sometimes my pain

makes me wonder.

But no, I am green

when I grow

more into my natural

self, sprouts and blooms

spreading in harmony

as my community

works to heal, taking

back the spaces our

spectrums once

found safety in,

allowing compassion

to once again rule.

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I am turquoise,

every time I accept

the parts of me that

cause others to question

who and what I am.

This color is me

when friendships

come to fill the spaces

left behind by the

blood that decided I

was too other for family,

for every drop of magic

providing us with

the patience and loyalty

to carry on, to paint

the world so all can

see what rings

in our colors.

By Silvia Fang on Unsplash

I am indigo,

pushing the world

into a “New Age,”

ushering in the era

of serenity and

open hearts, a time

When Justice may

open her eyes and see

the ways she has

been perverted, and

Finally we will

defend people over

old systems kept too

long in place.

By Nick Nice on Unsplash

I am violet,

because my dreams

never cease to imagine

a brighter future,

one of union and

acceptance, where

the spirit is free

to love and wander,

explore and discover.

By Jared Erondu on Unsplash

I am all of these colors,

and they are all me.

I am a rainbow,

a being of multitudes,

unable to settle into

the bindings set forth

at birth, a human

only a little different,

from You.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Max Drew Geiger

Aspiring Author, Cat Dad, Proud soon-to-be Husband:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.