Poets logo

All Lives Matter

Eligance

By Eliman JengPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
All Lives Matter
Photo by noah eleazar on Unsplash

Really? Really? Really? A head has divulged its hideous face. The new confident, bigoted face of America. An orange complexion shrouds the four corners of my flat screen as I desperately search for sports center. But wait! A black face in Uncle Tom clothing rears its ugly face to me now. No safe haven to turn to… The world vehemently shouts at my black soul with odious tones, without my house doors being ajar.

My home is not safe, as my eyes see clearly the destruction that weighs my feet down, as the target on my skin eclipses my good character. But aha! “All lives matter!” They shriek from their keyboards. Contradiction is their close sibling, as death toll of high melanin arises like the morning sun. I want to boisterously reply with my angry black man exterior makeup. But the world says I should be happy because we are free!! I should be patriotic with my right hand when I see red, white and blue. I should pledge my allegiance to a flag that never saw my melanin as an equal. I should have my hands strenuously on steering wheels with all four windows down when cops pull me over. Yes, sir, no sir, can I reach for my wallet sir without a bullet to the head so I can see my daughter smile as I walk thru the threshold of that unsafe haven we call home, can I walk freely through the area where Jamba Juice is established instead of the liquor store where my eyes are accustomed, shit I want to be healthy too, can I just see my people want to strive to do better? Can I just be comfortable on planet earth like the white man, not have to teach my daughter the rules of how to carry yourself while black so they don’t feel scared for their lives, Can I, Can I, Can I, just BREATH?

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Eliman Jeng

Father, poet. Much more than the keys can type.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.