Poets logo

All I Have to Do is Close My Eyes

Is memory one of the senses?

By Charliy NashPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

All I have to do is close my eyes

To see that smile

That smile that turned my heart inside-out

And gave it a reason to keep beating

The sun on the back of my neck

Feels soft and warm

Like her petite hand

As we’d walk along the hills for hours

If I listen carefully to the wind

I hear her laughter resonate throughout the valley

That annoying staccato laugh

So ridiculous

But like everything about her

So genuine

The wind carries the scent of honeysuckle

Her favorite

But something else

Smoke

Smoke from a fire

A fire took her from me many years ago

The taste of salt stings my tongue

Tears roll down my face

Stupid tears

Stupid fears

Shatter my fading memories

Of her

But

All I have to do is close my eyes.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Charliy Nash

Streams of consciousness with white water rapids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.