Poets logo

All Anomaly

A natural phenomena

By Dany Jean-PierrePublished about a year ago 2 min read
1

In a world that seeks to define and classify

I am queer by definition

An amalgamation of standards

Society had declared me dead

I am reborn

Given myself a new name

Brought parts of myself out of locked boxes

The locked boxes a sacrifice

My journey gave me gender euphoria

Joy I had never been able to feel under the label of girl or woman or man

Opening up my label

I was called

Unknown, Confused

People who had loved me my whole life saying

What is this Not a man, Not a woman

Nonsense

You put two feet back into the shoes you came with

•••

It’s not a need to be unique that drives me

My body and title will never be a cry for attention

It is a natural progression of my performance of gender

Something I had simply misunderstood

I was always put in a box not meant for me

As a woman put into a box of too masculine

As I performed manhood I was too soft

If I was always too much or too little

Why would I not identify with that combination of just right

•••

When presented with the chimera butterfly

The scientific community classified its condition as bilateral gynandromorph

That is to say, it is as I am

Half Man, half woman

A rare alternative in a society such as ours

That has latched onto duality since the dawn of time

•••

It is not the average path

Or an untraveled one

If it is harder to fly this way

I acknowledge it

I move through this life with purpose

Recognizing my rarity

Giving it love and light

Acceptance for all that is revolutionary about me

For I am

As they are

A chimera

A combination that is just right

nature poetryperformance poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Dany Jean-Pierre

They/Them

I started with libraries and now I’m trying to fill one with all of my own works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.