Poets logo

Alien Earthling

Naturalized Citizen Of Earth

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Alien Earthling
Photo by Nantu DAS on Unsplash

I’ll never forget the day

I crash landed on this wretched planet

This charming catastrophe

:

God, I love her so much

:

The dichotomy of

everything

I could ever ask for

with a dash of

“I’ve had enough.”

:

I guess that’s why I came back again

I suppose I’m a slut for experience

of this earthly stuff

:

In a body made of skin

I remember the wind

rushing past my flesh

:

I remember watching the stars

get smaller and smaller

as I approached for landing

:

I would have braced for impact

but I was too busy

trusting the fall

:

Like a meteor

I ripped a hole into the ceiling

of my parents' home

:

There was no sound

or maybe my new ears

just couldn’t perceive it then

:

Laying in my new home

in a physical body

on a strange, beautiful planet

I looked back up into the sky

from which I fell

:

Through the hole in the ceiling

I remembered where I came from

and why I was here again

:

Then I looked to my left and to my right

to see the people I was given to

:

They looked so peaceful when they were sleeping

but I immediately felt something was wrong

:

My eyes shot open with adrenaline

back up through the ceiling

as I saw it shift back into the roof of our house

:

When the ceiling fan snapped back into place

there was a face that smiled at me

then slipped away

:

Lightning surged through my veins

I awoke for the first time

in this human body

:

“Mom, dad, I fell from the sky!”

“There’s someone in the fan watching over me!”

:

“It was just a dream."

"Go back to sleep.”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.