Poets logo

Agreed forever

Agreed forever

By MARI JACKSONPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Originally, we can love like this.

Sometimes people don't know until they lose. Some people, some things, think that they are just a cloud in their life and that they can forget about the Jianghu from now on, but on the occasion of parting, they find that the past has long been rooted in the bottom of their heart and can't be removed or erased. The person who is attached to you can't give you a promise, so you finally understand that happiness is a thing that can't be met and asked for. But why do you still have to fly moths to the fire and stick to it all your life? Perhaps as Li Mochou often whispers: ask what love is in the world, and teach people to live and die.

How can one think through the most complicated things in the world? You think as long as you walk naturally, you won't have too much pain and nostalgia. However, why do you suddenly silence in the noisy crowd, and why do you suddenly choke in the middle of listening to the song? You don't know what you're looking forward to and what you're sticking to. What lingers in your mind is the reflection of the past.

Ding Ling! The bell on the door rang, and a man in his thirties, wearing a straight suit, entered the small cafe with strong coffee fragrance.

"Good afternoon! Welcome!" The young boss greeted his mother eagerly.

The man nodded politely, walked to the seat in front of the bar, sat down and said to the landlady:

"Please give me a Mocha, thank you."

"OK, just a moment, please." Said the landlady with a smile.

Then she began to skillfully grind coffee beans and make coffee. The man always looked at the boss's coffee making with a smile and looked like he was enjoying it.

Before long, the landlady brought a cup of mellow coffee to the man. "Please take your time!"

"Thank you." The man took the cup to his mouth and tasted it.

"First time?" Asked the landlady.

"Yes!" The man answered.

"What do you think of our shop?"

"Very good! The atmosphere is very good!"

"I like it very much myself, so although the business is bad, my husband and I are still reluctant to close it."

"Hmm..." the man nodded as if feeling something and drank another sip of coffee.

They were silent for a moment. For a time, only melodious jazz music was left in the empty shop. The man suddenly opened his mouth and broke the short silence.

"Er... Excuse me, may I ask you a question?"

"What's the problem?" The landlady asked curiously.

"Well... What should I say?" The man grabbed his head and looked at a loss. "Or can you listen to me first?"

The landlady nodded and motioned the man to go on.

"I used to have a very good girlfriend, which has reached the point of talking about marriage. The relationship between me and her has developed quite ordinary, not through great storms and vigorous love. But I think when I first saw her, it was like a magic force, a voice was pushing me and telling me that it was her! She was the girl I had been looking forward to. What made me happier was that she also responded He accepted my love and accepted me. The success of all this makes me intoxicated with the joy of happiness, but... "

"Just! What happened?" The landlady was obviously attracted by the story. She interrupted the man.

"Hmm..." the man's face sank, paused a little and continued.

"But I forget that behind happiness, there are often the most terrible demons. Just one night before our engagement, she... She was raped by gangsters!"

The landlady called out with an "ah".

"It's all my fault! If only I insisted on sending her back that day!" The man pounded on the table, and the caffeine in the cup shook violently and spilled out.

"That's not what you want to ask me!" The landlady said as she wiped the spilled coffee.

"No! No! My feelings for her will not be shaken by this. I decided to get engaged as scheduled. Unfortunately, on the day of our engagement, she... Hanged herself!"

The man's tone was unusually gentle, but from his expression, we can see how sad and shocked he was at that time.

"Suicide! Did she do anything?" The landlady opened her eyes wide for the dramatic turn and looked at the man nervously.

"Fortunately, we found it early and were still angry when we were sent to the hospital. It was just because the brain was in a coma due to lack of oxygen for a long time. At that time, the doctor once said that she was in danger of becoming a vegetable."

The landlady breathed a sigh of relief: "did she wake up later?"

"Yes, she's awake!"

"But... When I learned that she was awake and was happy to see her, I was stopped by her parents."

"Why? Why didn't her parents let you see her?"

"Her parents knelt on the ground and begged me. It turned out that she had lost her memory and the memory after knowing me. The doctor said it was selective amnesia. When people were hit hard, they would hide some memories evasively. Her parents begged me not to appear in front of her for the time being. They thought it was better for her to let her forget everything before. They were afraid that if I went to see her, she might recall it, and then she might fall into trouble again In a coma, he even ran to commit suicide. "

"Her parents have a reason to say that. Anyway, it's only temporary! When her mood and body are stable, you can see her again!" The landlady said this after listening to the man.

The man forced out a smile and looked infinitely bleak: "do you know how long they mean temporarily? It's ten years! That's ten years. I have to endure such days without her. Even if I occasionally meet on the road, I have to brush my shoulders with her as if I were a stranger." The man was about to roar, "you know how hard these days are, how painful it is to want to love but can't love!"

"Although it will be very painful, you still chose this road!" The landlady's eyes became very gentle when she looked at the man.

The boss's eyes calmed the man down, nodded and said, "well, it will be ten years today!"

"Oh! Really?! that's really congratulations. You've worked hard for ten years and can finally see her today!" The landlady said happily.

"That's right! But the more this day comes, the more I fear. For ten years, my mind hasn't changed, but what about her? If I told her about the past, she still can't remember me? Or she already has a boyfriend, or even married? That's what I want to ask you!" The man seemed to look at the young shopkeeper with a little tension and waited quietly for her reply.

"Hmm..." the landlady held her head in her hand and thought solemnly about the questions raised by the man.

"I think since you love that girl so much, it doesn't matter whether she remembers you or not. It's just to start over. It's good to pursue her again and fall in love again! And it doesn't matter even if you have a boyfriend! Just grab her from him!" The landlady said with a smile.

"But!" She suddenly looked serious. "But if she's married, give up! We married people hate destroying other people's families most!"

"Really?" The man bowed his head and said infinitely lonely.

"That's right! So don't be a person who destroys other people's families!"

Ding Ling! The bell hanging on the door rang again, and several college students who had just finished class came in. The landlady went out of the bar and was busy greeting the new guests.

"Yes!" The landlady seemed to suddenly think of something and turned to look at the man.

"Why do you want to ask me this? It's just the first time I've met you!" She asked curiously.

"Well... Why... Maybe it's because the girl once said that she would open a coffee shop like this with me after marriage!"

"Oh! So it is!" Said the landlady.

"Well! That's all! That's all! That's all! That's all! Just..." the man kept repeating the same sentence, as if to tell himself something. The Jazz stopped, and the whole room could only hear the crisp talk and laughter of college students. The man lowered his head and secretly glanced at the wedding ring on the landlady's hand. A drop of warm tears slipped into the cup of already cooled coffee.

Spiritual spark

Perhaps, you have imagined her wearing a wedding dress and being held by her father coming to you with a smile from the other end of the long red carpet; Imagine that when you married a princess with a strong suit on your chest, you might have given him a hug. But finally one day, it was not you who put on her wedding dress; You put a diamond ring on someone else's ring finger. But you know that the person in your memory is happy, so you have to smile and be happy.

art
Like

About the Creator

MARI JACKSON

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.