Poets logo

Afterthought

By: Ebony Taylor

By Ebony TaylorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I don’t think Ill ever find the love I want

So why Do I even Love at all?

Man after man

Never who I desire the most

And when I do feel as though I’ve found “The One”

I get left holding the bag

Have I ever really been in Love?

I’m not sure I have

Complete faith in the love of another

I’m not sure I can dig that deep

Does that make me weird?

Does it make me impossibly incomplete?

I don’t know what I am doing anymore

Led to slaughter like an unknowing sheep

The path to love covered in jagged rocks, vines, and dirty tricks

I keep getting tangled and terribly mangled

Every now and then I get a glimpse of what love would feel like

Only a temporary fix

Puzzled, lost, confused about why this is all happening

What is “being Happy?”

Interesting question

Hard to discover answer

I’m haunted by “what if”

Fleeting thoughts

Cause my soul to flutter even faster

I ran so fast to try and catch it

I cannot control the vibration

Puddle on the floor

Seeping inside my core

I knock lightly as I step onto Love’s Porch

No response

I knock once more

Love angrily opens

Sees that is me again

Then Slams the effing door..

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Ebony Taylor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.