Poets logo

After the Eclipse

A Rondel

By Matthew FrommPublished 20 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read
15
After the Eclipse
Photo by Jake Hills on Unsplash

Even as Stellar waltzes subside

and you and I go back to our days

We find ourselves in this daily maze

over which we ourselves preside

by the rules of this maze, we abide

despite an endless myriad of dismays

Even as Stellar waltzes subside

and you and I go back to our days

Paths within this maze divide

Paths of uncertainty and haze

Through them, you and I will together blaze

always running side by side

Even as Stellar waltzes subside

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

Written for Randy Baker's Prompted #3 (info below). I do not love Rondels.

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

Stream of ConsciousnessGratitudeFriendship
15

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to make it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wished to be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell7 days ago

    Brilliantly done, Matthew. Congratulations!

  • Christy Munson7 days ago

    Poignant entry, Mr. Fromm. Stunning creation. Congratulations on winning the challenge!

  • Lana V Lynx9 days ago

    Beautiful love waltz in words!

  • Randy Baker9 days ago

    Congrats! You won 1st place in the challenge.

  • Whoaaaa, this was stunning! You brilliantly executed the Rondel!

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    You may not love them (I've never heard of them) but I love how you make use of them to underscore the theme.

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Graceful and magical!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    Great example of how it's done. And the topic was very relevant. I haven't yet wrapped my brain around the format but will prob reference the rhyme scheme of yours if I get the time and gumption to do one, lol.

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Agree with all the previous comments!

  • Beautiful! I’m in total agreement with the previous comments… I was so confused about the format of the Rondel & gave it wide berth… but this is so poetic and flowing.🤩

  • Lindsay Sfara20 days ago

    I love this rondel! It flows so well and I love the take on what's happening now "after the eclipse." Seriously well done!

  • Dana Crandell20 days ago

    I do not love rondells either, but I'm impressed with what you did here! Very smooth and evocative! Well done!

  • Heather Hubler20 days ago

    Wow, you made that form look easy! Not gonna lie, I looked at the prompt and it made my brain hurt. But this was flawless! So many times the restraints of a form hurt the flow, but not in this case. Well done!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.