Poets logo

After It All

After the Parade

By Akwaugo IbePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

After it All

I see myself looking at a movie, a cycle, a loop

My place in the world might just be at a county fair on a Mary-go-around

The excitement of connections is still present

Yet the interaction is different

As if at any moment, the loud sirens will make waves

Vibrations have been amplified

Supply is struggling to meet demand

My place in this world is hidden, but everywhere

My place is with the creator... the manufacturer... the engineer

Nature is my second home, look up with head to blue skies on green grass can

Make one forget about the busy afternoon traffic on the route home from work

The space I reside in was humbling to my inner child as I prepare for the next generation

Of children to be empower and in love with themselves

How life is heading towards more chaos

Raptor and Godzilla terrorizing the state of the world

It is only fair to advocate for the rugrats

Or else who will?

And all I hear is the advertisement of the popular show Atlanta

It’s after the end of the world don’t you know that yet

And now that one world has submerged another has emerged

I’m hearing Justin Timberlake … the old me is dead and gone

And I will focus on what is in front of me

Mentally or emotionally

My pain keeps my blessings delayed

And the lesson on repeat

Until I allow myself to pivot

Through the turbulence of life

it will only be harder to be aerodynamic

Someone is listening to breaths I intake

If it’s steady or lagging

Friendships have been fading in and out

But the right ones are showing form

I realize after weight loss I am still not in my final form

Slowing down my overthinking to illustrate that after the

Warm embrace of the body heat and fluorescent lights

As well as the house music fading to silence

Connecting with familiar and enlightened beings

Is who I build with in this life

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Akwaugo Ibe

I dig deeper to find myself. I unravel the triumph and tragedy within me and to show the world another route to turning pain into peace. Stealing my mind back from distractions and disappointments and being still long enough to savor it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.