Poets logo

After death

Written by Abel Johnson Thundil

By Abel Johnson ThundilPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
After death
Photo by Hennie Stander on Unsplash

I am a tree with bright flowers

And dripping fruits;

But there is a snake in my branches

Somewhere.

No one is brave enough to kill it,

And I can’t do it myself.

Boys won't come to me

For my fruits,

Girls won't pick flowers from me

For their lovers.

The newly wed

Won't sit under me for a photograph,

And the old man

Won't sit under me to read a book.

And one day

I'll die.

And the snake

Will go searching for another tree.

And one day

I'll die,

And they'll say

How I brightened up the hills,

How the grass around me now dies without shade.

And they'll say

How I caught the run-away kite for the boy,

And how I gave my branches for the nests;

At least until the snake ate the eggs.

They’ll say

How badly they wanted me.

They'll finally realise

I could not have killed the snake in my own branches.

I want to die

So that they'll love me

For the first time.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.