Poets logo

After 21 Days

From a project on healing.

By Kenji N. LockettPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The ancestors speak

as my feet touches the earth

walking a straight path

or sometimes in a circle

there is really no right or wrong way to start healing

my body feeling the sweat dripping from pores

as I make the decision to not let depression and sadness dim my light.

I have a right to exist

and this journey gets to be more than just about being fat or skinny

my health lies in loving myself a little more everyday

and becoming grounded in this non-binary body

while honoring my moon cycle

and how it connects me to the Universe.

Though I did not hug a tree and put my feet in the grass,

I acknowledge your presence along my path

the trees whispers their knowledge to me

and I hear you loud and clear!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kenji N. Lockett

Kenji hails from Oakland, CA. In October 2020, she self- published my first chapbook of poetry book titled A.F.R.O, which is a personal journey through my acceptance of self as a black, queer, non-binary, plus sized individual.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.