Poets logo

Africa

Inspired by my parent's birthplace - Uganda

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Africa
Photo by Oladimeji Odunsi on Unsplash

Echoes of earth

call out a name.

Tender palms and soles carry history.

Solid strolls on the terrain of their birth land.

.

The zero of numbers.

The circle of shapes.

The well of origin.

.

Incense of smoky gerbera fragrances.

Tribes of feminine sacredness.

Rituals performed for roots remembered.

Ceremonies symbolizing sacramental service.

.

Location of interest.

Land of the living.

I can hear laughter along the longitudinal plane.

My heart's compass points toward the latitude of longing.

Dividing the land in two

lies the equator of equanimity.

.

She is the queen of the motherland.

Her kisses corrects my past.

Her hugs heals my wounds.

Her smiles swallows my pride.

Outstretched hands welcomes me.

.

She is a friend to the forgotten.

A sister to the seeker.

A woman named Africa.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.