Poets logo

Adrift

Lost at Sea (A poem for my son who was lost at sea on March 19th 2020)

By Carrie Rice-JustusPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Adrift
Photo by Matt Hardy on Unsplash

I am adrift on this lonely sea.

Everything is here is so beautiful, and that makes me so sad.

My heart and the sea are duet of wonder and grief.

I can never reach the shore, no matter how hard I try.

The light of the sky is as delicate as the fibers of my memories.

The ocean breeze moves me from place to place.

This ache in my soul makes me look for those I have lost on the tide of once was.

I am lost.

A song, a laugh, a hand reaching out.

Anything.

Let there be a center, under it all.

All that I have has been taken from me.

All that remains was taken away.

It is so beautiful here. It makes me so sad.

I lost my face, I've lost who I am.

Here I am, adrift.

Feeling permeated by a blessing that exists only in memory.

I am so sad. And everything is so beautiful.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Carrie Rice-Justus

I am a Writer. A Poet. An Artist. I am a Beach Bum. I am a Crone in training. A mother of wolves. I have a caffeine addiction and a survival mode that is on auto-pilot. I am waiting for something magical to happen in my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.