Poets logo

Adoption Story

One woman's pain is one family's gain

By Tina D'AngeloPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
      Adoption Story
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

Little baby boy in a sailor suit, curly red hair, and big green eyes

Waving bye-bye to me, a newly learned skill, while I stood on the sidewalk and cried

Bye-bye, mama, bye-bye

Oh, Lord, what have I done?

Too late to change my mind. He's gone and I'll soon be forgotten

Replaced with a big house, new toys, a mommy and a daddy- everything he deserves and needs

Everything I could not give him. All I had to offer was me

I was not enough. Always running, trying to keep up

Falling short, falling behind, falling, always falling

He would finally wake up in the same place every morning

Same faces smiling at him every day

Same hands reaching out to love him

Sanity traded for my insane gypsy life

It was a good thing, right?

Why won't anyone tell me I was right?

Thirty years went by before I finally realized

The sacrifice I made was worth the pain

My loss was his family's gain

My broken heart healed their wounds, gave them joy

In a sailor suit, with curly red hair and big green eyes

a slightly used, but well-loved little baby boy

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.