Poets logo

Adjusting My Sails

When you feel things are difficult

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I.

Little wakes took me off course

Floating on an empty sea

Anchor down, dragging source

Not ever truly, fully free

II.

Hoist the main! The wind at back!

Escape the embered land

A tacky course, direction lacked

Salt water feeds quicksand

III.

I seek for you, upon thy shore,

My reflection I did see,

Submitting to wakes, evermore

Squalls change paths towards me.

IV.

I must tack, and adjust my sail!

Torrential storms remain at stern!

No tears shall drop, nor shall I wale!

Whilst turbidity below churns.

V.

Darkness embraces this tiny boat,

Swelling giants try to drown,

But it’s within thy spirit to rise and float,

My new course I have found.

VI.

New shores for which I desire,

Compass now with sound direction,

Blowing winds; my soul must acquire

Determination set in my complexion.

VII.

Salty waters dry out my soul,

Unquenchable thirst surrounds

Oars trapped by a rotting thole,

Poseidon rises and astounds!

VIII.

I will not relent to your storm

Again, My course to change,

Through the trials I shall transform,

In open seas outrange.

IX.

One day I will see that coastline,

My eden founded on your mountain

Finally rest in the Great Compline

To sip from life’s everlasting fountain.

X.

Shall I ever again be at loss,

And end up in waters black,

On ship, again, remove all dross,

Clearing the heightened wrack.

XI.

To see clearly, the bounty ahead,

What new lands lavishly offer

Divinely guided overhead,

Secrets now sunken in my coffer,

XII.

Peaceful now, waters settled and clear

So much easier to see my way,

Adjusting my sails without any fear,

On shore, no longer astray.

Charli Richey,

May 2021

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.