Poets logo

Adieu

My only good poem that stemmed from my greatest heartbreak

By Kia JonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Adieu
Photo by Fernando @cferdo on Unsplash

April 29, 2017

So I hear you've found the one,

the girl you're going to marry.

And now I know, I'll never be the one,

the girl to make you happy.

To you, I'll just be there;

a friend who cares.

Maybe a little too much.

I've always let my hopes fly too high

But this time, I thought they'd reach the sky.

So as you can imagine -

When I found out;

the ring on her finger that shows you who cared about -

My hopes went crashing,

thrashing,

screaming,

shattering to the ground.

You might never know my feelings for you.

But I'll never forget; my almost,

my could've been,

my now "adieu".

So, with sincerest of words,

good luck to you.

You've found your one.

I've lost another.

But she's gained a happily ever after.

Goodbye, my Almost Prince,

don't worry about me.

The life we could've had will soon be,

but, dear Anthony,

Not with me.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kia Jones

I'm a writer and a Martial Artist. I blend my love of fiction writing with the knowledge I gain on my Martial Arts journey. Fiction is my passion but I love to post lifestyle and video content too!

Find me on patreon @ alifeofvalor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.