Poets logo

Addict

A Poem About Love Addiction

By Hailey GumbleyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

I need it like I need oxygen to breathe,

And it's so damn hard to find.

And harder to keep.

I can never get enough even though I have a steady supply.

I find myself needing more and more.

And it's the drug I just can't fucking quit.

I find myself looking around the room,

Wondering where I'll get my next fix,

And I think to myself, 'why?'

Why can't I stop?

Why can't I be happy with what I have?

Why do I need it so bad?

It's like an itch I can't scratch

But I'll gladly stand it because well...

It's worth it when I finally get it.

But it's never enough.

And I just know if people knew...

God if they knew.

It's the drug we all have at least once in our lifetime,

And it's something I just need so much of.

And once I have it with one supply,

I need another supply to add on.

Why?

Because it's just never enough.

Why can't it ever be enough?

It's not like they don't give me the best they've got.

It's not like they don't try their hardest to give me enough.

It's that I'm an addict.

They just don't know it.

They don't know I'm addicted to love.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Hailey Gumbley

Just a Girl in her Early Twenties on a magical adventure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.