Poets logo

Achromatopsia

Color Deficient

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Achromatopsia
Photo by Nathan DeFiesta on Unsplash

Like most of you, I enter a lot of Vocal Challenges and although I have never won, they have made me a better writer. This is because the Vocal Challenges have forced me to think outside the box.

For this challenge, I went down the rabbit hole of exploring rarities to find subjects worthy of writing. I finally concluded —what better to write about than color, or lack there of — while providing education for not only the reader, but also myself.

EYE: TONY GRAHAM/GETTY IMAGES, ADAPTED BY J. HIRSHFELD; WEBVISION.MED.UTAH.EDU, ADAPTED BY J. HIRSHFELD

For some it started a long time ago

with a genetic mutation

on an X chromosome.

You see, normally,

people have cones of three

and possess trichromatic vision

given by their genetic tree.

Cells containing pigments,

these proteins of strength,

one absorbs short, two absorbs medium,

and three absorbs long wavelengths.

Monochromacy can perceive only one light intensity;

while Anomalous trichromacy has three, one cone struggles with its’ identity.

But like wavelengths of blue

I need to keep this short

even if I want to tell you them all

to ensure proper learning

and I hope you stay involved.

So allow me to finish and please be kind

by referring to them as color deficient,

and not color blind.

And for those that only see black and white,

Achromatopsia is a rare,

bilateral retinal degeneration

which may sound bad, but

at least it’s not tax evasion.

Thank you for taking the time to read «Achromatopsia.» If you enjoyed it, I would love it if you took some time to read some of my other work. I have also attached a YouTube video which was helpful for my learning style when learning about this condition.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Wow, Jeffrey! I really enjoyed this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.