Poets logo

Accidents Happen

A Poem A Day Challenge - February 11th, 2024

By Ashley LimaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Accidents Happen
Photo by Joyce Hankins on Unsplash

Grey matter

Splatters

Pink blast

Shatters

The glass china on the wall behind.

Wretched, hellish, watching, jealous;

The end of a revolution number 9.

Sitting, painting, panting, waiting,

Cuss like a sailor

Stubbed a toe.

Watching matches light

Plane crashes

Rob a bank and knead the dough.

Feed the gremlin

After midnight

Purposeful havoc we did sow.

Playing god and riding horses

Stomp the snake beneath your hoof

Climb a ladder

Cleaning gutters

Fall ever gently to your death.

***

Oh? 2 in one day. I started writing the last poem I submitted at 11:15 and realized I wrote it in 12 minutes. This prompt, which may or may not continue, is to write multiple poems before midnight and see how far it takes me. I figure if I'm being bit by the writing bug, I might as well follow the itch that proceeds.

For FunCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    You know what, I read this in reverse and it works that way too! You should enter this into the Inverse challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.