Poets logo

Abhorrent Behavior

And It's Affects On Our Psyche

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
9
Abhorrent Behavior
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Dear Hate,

Or do you prefer Mr. Grumbles, Grouch potato or annoyed as shitmeister?

I know, I know, you hate all the cheery "dear" crap. In fact, I'm sure you hate that I am writing to you at all. You'll probably hate the size of the text or hate the choice of font. You probably even hate that it's typed and not handwritten.

Dude, would you just chill out.

The reason I am writing, is to encourage you to ease up a bit on the attitude. It affects everyone, and before you know it, we are all in crabby moods.

Irritable and fickle, running late and changing 4 times, getting in the car, still hating our outfits. So much frickin' static in the air, that we're having an incredibly, terrible hair day, and if it's not one shoe missing, it's the stinking car keys. Now we're frazzled, rushing to work griping at the cars around us, snippy with the poor girl in the drive-thru window and yelling at the radio weatherman for once again, providing inaccurate information, aka, false advertisement, leaving us standing in the rain, dressed for sunshine. (Yeah, I did that) ;)

I mean, COME ON!

Wow, I am so sorry, please excuse that outburst.

Do you see what I mean?

We are all on the verge of a meltdown and it's disrupting our entire day, can you please relax and calm down?

Maybe it's just me. I mean, I haven't taken a poll or conducted an online survey asking people to rate their moods and evaluate the causes or potential solutions, maybe I should, maybe I will.

The point is, you need to take it down a notch or 2, so we can all catch our breaths and just relax.

I hope you have a better day, and let me say, your hair looks fabulous!

I appreciate whatever you can do to help. Thank you.

Frazzled and irritated,

K

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    It's always fun and interesting to personify and run with it! Thanks for this interesting and positive letter on a negative, Keli.

  • So true, good perspective.

  • Hate is so easy for some people, it has so many different forms it can take, from exclusion / ignoring to destruction and murder. Love helps us build, hate causes destruction, Excellent words

  • A word for the times. My wife just shared news with me of three more shootings. One, a 17 year old kid who went to the wrong address to pick up his younger siblings. Another, an award winning cheerleader who accidentally went to the wrong car. Finally (if only it would be), a young woman who pulled into the wrong driveway. Sorry to bring you down. Your article was quite enjoyable. Maybe I should have read it before my wife broke the latest news.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Aunt that the truth. Great piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.