Poets logo

A Young Man With Tiny Wings

Gullible girl, flirting with fire

By Emily DickersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
A Young Man With Tiny Wings
Photo by Bewakoof.com Official on Unsplash

Everyone in the town was receiving angels at their doors,

Inviting them in,

And receiving miracles in return

One showed up to my door,

Naked, young, almost handsome, though dirty

Like many others, but this one had a funny tattoo

On the bottom of his foot

Fire, blazing bright, in blue ink like all human tattoos

Well he was naked so I clothed him

And he was hungry so I fed him

Also he was thirsty so I gave him to drink

I had done my duty.

He smiled, thanked me kindly for my goodness,

And he pecked my cheek and walked out, I blushed

Nothing but misfortune fell upon me for the rest of my life.

Bills, endless bills, black mold in all the vents,

Rot in the drains, mother passed away

Father took himself out, brother locked up

Sisters all went insane

One miscarriage, then another, and a stillbirth

All three had names: Eliza, Mary, and Jax

The neighbors spied in on the fights

Until he left me. Then they stopped

Pretending to care that I was suffering.

After that, I prayed for the first time in years

To no avail, God doesn't hear the prayers

Of those who allowed themselves

To be so easily enchanted by the Devil.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Joe Nasta2 years ago

    That twist at the end got me! So good

Emily DickersonWritten by Emily Dickerson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.