Poets logo

A year in Heaven

21/12/2014

By VJHDPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
7

All I want for Christmas is one last day with you.

I’ve wondered what we’d do this day actually knowing it would be our last.

I wouldn’t sleep a wink; I’d tell you everything I left unsaid.

We’d talk of all that’s happened since that one and final day.

I’d show you the things I have done to keep you close.

You would hold my hand and feel how much it hurt this year without you.

We’d make it always count; we’d change our world from where we stand.

I thought I had more time to tell you how proud I became of you.

I never even told you how you brightened my days in those last few months.

All I want is another day of who we were together.

Let’s dance in the supermarket aisle and eat pancakes at midnight.

Watch Mash and Frasier re-runs till dawn and get takeout in our pyjamas.

Let’s get Nandos and Ice cream for breakfast and see how many balloons will lift us off the ground.

Let’s send balloons to heaven together, while you tell me how you got all the other ones we sent you every time.

Did you get the one that I finally wrote goodbye on?

Cause I’m not so sure I meant it.

Let’s play songs that remind of us of our childhood while we clear out the garage.

We can watch a chick flick for old times’ sake, maybe finally finish the ‘Prince and me’.

Lets plan all the kids birthday parties in advance, and argue the semantics of time travel as if we do it all the time.

And please tell me what you think of the new doctor?!!

Teach me how to play your guitar so it is no longer collecting dust.

Somewhere in between all this there’s some things I need fixing and I need a program for my computer.

Your niece, my daughter always asks after you, we should spend some time with her.

My son is one now, I wonder if he remembers you.

Let’s go for a drive so we can play the music too loud. I miss your singing.

There are some songs that I have found that I know you will love, perhaps you can take them back with you when you leave us again, that way when I play them I will know that you are listening too.

Let’s go birthday shopping because I love to make you smile and I could use some help buying a sound system worthy of our playlist.

The upside to this day is you can take a photo back with you of the kids for poppy and Grandad to see and say hi to snowflake for me.

Lets record every moment so on my sad days I can replay it all in my head.

For all the time we spent apart I’d make it up in this one day and make the memory last until the time we meet again.

I love you, and I so miss you, and I wish heaven would grant us this day today.

Happy Birthday Little Brother.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.