Poets logo

A World of Rainbow

How that glorious lightshow in the sky paints a picture of unity

By Lizzy RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
A World of Rainbow
Photo by Jiroe on Unsplash

You may have heard before

that if you want to invoke happy feelings

you should use "happy colors"-

Red, Yellow, Orange.

Stray far from the other half,

the Dark Side,

those "gloomy guses" of the sky.

Who decided that there were

"happy and sad colors"?

Last time I checked

Red equals anger, and Orange

can be associated with danger, like warning signs.

Yellow is the color of smiley faces,

but also the color of cowardice or sickness.

They do not sound very happy, do they?

What about the "sad colors"?

What do you think of when you hear blue?

Crying? Or the ocean waves,

the crystalline sky speckled with clouds

that bring glistening raindrops?

Green? Easy.

Grass, hills.

Heck, I think of pickles,

and that makes me happy in seconds!

Your favorites foods can be green-

Guacamole, peppers, even green gummy bears!

A real downer, huh?

Purple...

Sweet, serene purple.

Team Happy up there? They can't even

finish a sunset without it!

It's the color of lilacs and lavenders,

loyalty and wisdom.

Who on Earth looks at purple and feels sad?!

Now what is the point of all of this color talk?

Colors are not black and white.

That's why we call them colors!

Do you know what else is not black and white?

People.

I am not black and white.

I do not go by just he or she.

I do not love people sexually.

I love men and women equally.

Every color is unique, never just one or the other.

Every person is a rainbow, filled with

different colors and different meanings, different parts.

Every person is a rainbow,

just like me.

A Rainbow is nothing more

than separate, unique individuals

coming together to make something

breathtakingly magnificent.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.