Poets logo

A Work in Progress

The Promise Kept

By Kishan BaskaranPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Work in Progress
Photo by Alex Lopez on Unsplash

I made a promise to myself,

That there will be a day when I look in the mirror,

And not apologize for the fragile creature I once was,

Acknowledge the resilient being that I am,

And embrace the unbreakable creature that I will become.

Seeking external validation,

I accepted the verbal abuse.

Thunderous white noise,

Coloured by rose tinted glasses,

Muted the red flags,

From a black heart.

It took me too long to recognize,

The vile venom you spewed,

Became the voice of my inner thoughts.

I lost myself,

Seeking external validation.

Without an ounce of disbelief,

I will fully believe in myself.

I will no longer depend on a crutch,

to keep myself hoisted.

Seated comfortably,

I will reign over my kingdom.

This life is wasted,

Thinking about the flaws,

That you have imposed upon me.

I am more than this weak creature,

You continue to picture me as.

I will not shatter,

From your continuous poke,

Ever again.

I am still hurt,

But that does not mean,

I am not strong.

This heart that is now hurting,

Will continue to beat proudly,

Creating its own sweet melody,

A symphony so ruthlessly delightful,

It echoes throughout my bones,

Orchestrating my forward movement.

The once fading amber embers of my soul ignited,

Enveloping this temple of mine in a crimson aura.

Freed grey matter,

Returns to the ivory throne,

Fueling internal validation.

I am compassionate,

I am loving,

I am ruthless.

I am who I let myself be.

I am sad,

But happiness is not foreign to me.

My endless tears have stopped.

The pain etched in my soul fading.

I know I am loved.

I am enough.

... And so ...

I keep the promise to myself,

Today I look in the mirror,

And not apologize for the fragile creature I once was,

Acknowledge the resilient individual that I am,

And embrace the unbreakable person that I will become.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.